Thursday Recipe – Grandma’s Bean Salad

Today’s Thursday Recipe is a bean salad my grandmother used to make.  As a child I once asked her how she got lucky enough to get an actual recipe named after her.  She told me it wasn’t her recipe but one she learned from a gardener friend named Kay.

“Is it Kay’s grandma’s recipe?” I asked.

“Oh, I don’t think so,” she answered.

“Why is it called Grandma’s Bean Salad then?” I persisted.

“Maybe it’s called Grandma’s Bean Salad because grandmas love to feed it to their precious ones.”

“Maybe,” I said, through a mouthful of creamy, crunchy goodness.

Grandma’s Bean Salad

Zest and Juice of 1 Lemon
2 TB Red Wine Vinegar
2 TB Olive Oil
1 tsp Agave Nectar or Honey
1/2 tsp Salt
1/4 tsp Pepper
1 Clove Garlic, finely minced
1 Tomato, chopped
1 small Cucumber, diced
1 small Zucchini, diced
1 stalk Celery, diced
1/2 Red Onion, diced
1/2  Cup Fresh Chopped Herbs (I particularly like using Sage & Parlsey)
1 can Chickpeas, rinsed and drained
1 can Cannellini (or Great Northern) Beans, rinsed and drained
1 can Kidney Beans, rinsed and drained

Toss everything together and let chill in the refrigerator.

About Liz Shine

Liz Shine writes fiction and has published work in Shark Reef, The Writer's E-Zine, and Blue Crow Magazine. She is currently working on a novel. As co-creator of this blog, she hopes to provide inspiration to other writers who, like her, struggle to write despite work, family, and self-sabotage.

2 comments

  1. Christina,
    One of the things I love about collaborating on this blog with you is waiting to see what you will post for the Thursday recipe. I will admit that the only one I’ve actually made so far is the one containing booze, but I have good intentions! :). I love the simplicity of the recipes and your the words you choose to accompany them.

  2. Thank you, my dear co-author. I am glad we inspire each other! 🙂

Leave a comment